Movie Blather and Randomness

Gentle readers, it’s time for another installment of movie blather and randomness, wherein I give you the latest (or latest-ish) news relating to all things movies.  Without further ado, let’s get to the news!

1. Trailer for Smashed is compelling, etc.

This movie, starring Aaron Paul and Mary Elizabeth Winstead, looks super hard to watch but super good.  It focuses on them as a couple and their struggles with addiction.  It’s the kind of gritty, intimate drama that I love (but have a hard time watching).  Already garnering good buzz, I can’t wait to see it.

2. They are making a Baywatch movie

No, I am not kidding.  Robert Ben Garant, who co-created Reno 911!, will adapt the TV series into a movie. I don’t know why this is happening, and I don’t know why I’m oddly fascinated by this bit of news.  Surely there isn’t a lot of demand for such a movie?  Have audiences been clamoring for a Baywatch movie?  Is this real life? (Vulture)

3. Beautiful Creatures trailer is live

Fun fact: my sister actually met Emma Thompson while she was filming this movie down in New Orleans, and Thompson had some colorful things to say about the film.  I haven’t read the books and don’t plan to, but the film is one of the franchises looking to fill the void of Harry Potter (ahahahaha good luck), so it’s worth mentioning on a blog that devotes much of its time to talking about YA.

4. The Mummy reboot is actually happening

Described as a “darker twist on the material, a scarier version”  of the 90s classic (too soon) starring Brendan Frasier and Rachel Weisz (when she could still move her face), this reboot of one of my favorite hangover movies of all time is actually happening, maybe?  I don’t understand the movies that are being made these days.
(Deadline)

5. Oranges Redband Trailer was released

I’m 99% sure (and 100% too lazy to check) that I featured this movie trailer in a previous post, but the redband trailer for the movie was released last week, and I think it’s worth including.  I still want to see this movie but am increasingly nervous about it.  What do you think?

Any other movie-related news I missed? Let me know!

One thought on “Movie Blather and Randomness

Leave a Reply

