Uncategorized

Movie Blather and Randomness

Gentle readers, it’s time for another installment of movie blather and randomness, wherein I give you the latest (or latest-ish) news relating to all things movies.  Without further ado, let’s get to the news!

1. 10 Years Trailer doesn’t look terrible

The movie, which aims to be a reunion comedy, doesn’t actually look terrible. Sure, there are plenty of cliches to be found here, but the cast is fairly impressive, and the movie looks like fun.  This is the kind of thing that I not-so-secretly love.  Plus, it’ll be interesting to see Channing Tatum act against his real-life wife, Jenna Dewan-Tatum, again.

2. Disney’s The Rocketeer might get a reboot

Despite the fact that the 1991 film was kind of a dud, I totally loved it (I used to pretend to be Jennifer Connelly and wish for one of those white silky dresses).  There are things about the film that could work in a reboot, to be sure.  I just…I kind of love the original, just for the camp-factor alone.  At any rate, Vulture’s got the whole run-down, and it’s worth a look.

3. Trailer for Butter is part Election, party crazy

Just in time for the State Fair circuits (which is what I thought of immediately) is the much pushed-back release of the trailer for Butter, a movie starring Jennifer Garner, Ty Burrell, and Olivia Wilde.  The film looks to be a dark, quirky look at some people in the south who like to make statues out of butter or something.  I’m not quite sure, and honestly could go either way on this one.  What do you think?

4. Girl Who Played with Fire won’t get a release in 2013

This one is interesting, if only because it’s so far off my radar it’s back on it.  That made the kind of sense that didn’t, right?  I saw the Fincher adaptation of the first of the Millennium Trilogy, and it was fine.  You know, it was okay.  Because I’m not a fan of the books and because I waited for the DVD, this isn’t a franchise that I’m obsessively tracking.  However, I do find it interesting that the film didn’t do as well as expected, and it seems as though there isn’t a ton of heat on getting this one made quickly. (Cinemablend)

5. Teaser trailer for Passion will cause buzz because of the girl-on-girl action, obvi

Ever since the Toronto International Film Festival posted the teaser trailer for Brian De Palma’s Passion (a remake of a French film called Love Crime), the internet’s been all atwitter about it.  It stars Noomi Rapace and Rachel McAdams and looks to be deeply creepy…and also obviously sexy. Honestly? I think both actresses are beautiful and talented, and I’ll probably see it for the buzz alone.  Not my usual fare, though.

Leave a Reply

