Movie Blather and Randomness

Gentle readers, it’s time for another installment of movie blather and randomness, wherein I give you the latest (or latest-ish) news relating to all things movies.  Without further ado, let’s get to the news!

1. New Trailer for This is 40

It’s no secret that I’m a sucker for a Judd Apatow movie, despite the fact that they tend to run a little long.  So it should come as no surprise that I’m really looking forward to the sort of unofficial sequel to Knocked Up, which follows Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann’s characters as they turn 40 and deal with life, family, and marriage.  I think it looks really cute, and I love watching Apatow’s real-life daughters onscreen (I may or may not follow Maude Apatow on Twitter, too).

2. Joss Whedon set to direct The Avengers 2

Whedon has signed a 3-year deal with Marvel to not only direct the Avengers sequel but to develop a live-action show for ABC.  I think this is great news for Whedon, whose work I love.  I will follow this man anywhere, you guys.  ANYWHERE. (L.A. Times)

 

3. Liberal Arts Trailer is Mesmerizing

The movie is about a man (Josh Radnor) who is totally lost and has the chance to visit his collegiate alma mater to speak at a retirement dinner for his favorite professor. While he’s there, he meets a charming co-ed (Elizabeth Olsen) and struggles with his feelings for her and the difference in their ages.  The movie looks just quirky enough to work, and I’m a total sucker for movies like this. I can’t wait to see it.

4. Great Gatsby Release Date Postponed

The movie, originally due out this Christmas, has been pushed back to next summer.  The speculation is that the film, which originally had a bunch of Oscar buzz, might not sit as well with the bookish crowd as originally anticipated.  The film was shot in 3-D, so the studio can’t claim the delay is a result of wanting to convert it.  I’m pretty bummed about this delay, mostly because I think the movie is going to be a total disasterpiece and was looking forward to it this winter. (L.A. Times)

5. Nobody Walks Trailer

When a young artists (Olivia Thirlby) comes to stay with a family in L.A., she ends up shaking things up for everyone who meets her.  Also starring John Krasinski, I hadn’t heard anything about this movie until I stumbled across the trailer the other day.  I’ve watched it several times, and every time, it gives me chills.  I’m not going to lie, you guys.  I think it’s going to be an upsetting movie.  But it looks great, and it was co-written by Lena Dunham.  Can’t wait.

That’s it for this week’s movie news.  Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Movie Blather and Randomness

  1. I am very excited for Liberal Arts! I saw Happythankyoumoreplease on Netflix, and I enjoyed it, but the trailer for this one looks even better. This is 40 also looks good – I’m a fan of these quirky, indie-type films. The last one I saw was Jeff, Who Lives At Home, which I thought was amazing!

    Thanks for posting – it seems I’m always hearing about new movies on your blog first.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      I liked Jeff, Who Lives at Home, too.

      Thanks for the great compliment! I’m glad you like these posts–I certainly like putting them together.

  2. Being a mother of two (a four-year old and a one-year old) I rarely get out much. I’m trapped in diapers and The Disney Channel. So when I wanted to thank you for the previews you posted today. I love most of the Judd Apatow movies. I think they’re pretty hilarious. So I was excited to see this “40” movie coming out … I’m 37 so I’m almost there I’d like to see my future before it happens. Then I see the Liberal Arts trailer and I love it. I’m already planning ahead for the babysitter on these two flicks. So thanks for the updates 🙂

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      Glad to be of service! I’m glad you’re looking forward to those movies–I am, too.

      Thanks for the very nice, thoughtful comment.

Leave a Reply

