pop culture

Movie Blather and Randomness

Gentle readers, it’s time for another installment of movie blather and randomness, wherein I give you the latest (or latest-ish) news relating to all things movies.  Without further ado, let’s get to the news!

1. Jumanji remake in the works

In the latest in pillaging from our collective childhoods, there’s talk of a Jumanji reboot in the works.  The Vulture piece I linked to is not happy about this, and I can’t say that I am, either.  I love the original, and this is not a case where the film needs to be updated.  Like the Vulture author, I believe that the film still holds up–and my fellow gym-goers must agree–I make them watch it whenever it’s on TV.

2. Bachelorette trailer is live

Even though the early buzz about this one is a little nervous-making, I like enough of the people in the movie to give it the benefit of the doubt.  I don’t like the obvious fat jokes (when is this not going to be a thing?  Fat jokes are not default for funny, universe), and even though I can sort of predict everything that’s going to happen from the trailer alone, I’ll still see this in the theaters.  There aren’t enough female-centered movies that aren’t total romantic comedies, and until that changes, this is what we have to work with.

3. Prometheus will have a sequel

Despite a pretty strong negative reaction by audiences to the movie, there’s a sequel to Ridley Scott’s Prometheus in the works, with a release date scheduled for 2014 or 2015 (or something like that).  Both Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace are committed to returning for the film.  I’ll…probably see it, despite my frustration with the film. (Comingsoon.net)

4. Middle of Nowhere trailer is riveting

I have to confess that I hadn’t heard about this movie before I stumbled across the trailer, but I’m really looking forward to seeing it now (despite its producer connection to The Help).  The movie is about a woman’s struggles after her husband is sentenced to 8 years in prison, and it looks to be beautifully shot and really well acted.  This is definitely a movie to watch out for.

5. The Oranges trailer is awesome

The film boasts an impressive cast (including Hugh Laurie, Alia Shawkat, Catherine Keener, Oliver Platt, and Leighton Meester) and looks to be a quirky, funny take on an older man dating a much younger woman.  I can’t wait to see it, not only because I think it looks really excellent but because I love virtually everyone in the movie.  Can’t. Wait!

One thought on “Movie Blather and Randomness

Leave a Reply

