pop culture

Movie Blather and Randomness

Time for another edition of movie news.  I’ve been collecting goodies all week and am excited to get down to it.  Without further ado, here’s the movie news that’s been keeping me interested all week.

1. Potential Hocus Pocus sequel is in the works.

According to Collider.com, Disney has quietly begun developing a sequel to the 90s-schmaltz-fest Hocus Pocus, starring Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker, and Kathy Najimi.  It also starred an itty-bitty Thora Birch.  The 90s movie is one of my absolute favorites, and the idea of a sequel kind of squicks me out, but that’s not to say I wouldn’t see it (I totally would).

It’s still in the “potential” and “rumor” stages, but it was too good not to share. (via Collider.com)

2. Mike Birbiglia’s Sleepwalk With Me trailer is live

I read and liked Birbiglia’s memoir, so I was excited when I read that it was going to be a movie.  The trailer is live, and it looks…awesome.  Birbiglia is funny in a very understated way, and the supporting cast is pretty excellent.  I can’t wait to see this one.

3. Mockingjay to be split into 2 films

This has pretty much been reported everywhere already, but I wanted to weigh in on it, too.  The studio has decided that the third Hunger Games book will be split into two films, following in the footsteps of Harry Potter and Twilight.  While I understand that there’s a lot to cover in the book, this feels like a way to draw out the franchise and make more money, which kind of bums me out.  The films will be released in consecutive Novembers, ending in 2015.  That’s…far away. (via MTV’s Hollywood Crush)

4. Hello I Must Be Going Trailer

I hadn’t heard of this movie until I stumbled across the trailer, but now I can’t wait to see it.  The movie’s about a thirty-something woman who’s fairly stuck in her life until she meets and begins a relationship with a much younger man.  The movie looks like it’s probably going to be fairly uneven (and it’s certainly low-budget), but I love Melanie Lynskey and Christopher Abbott (Girls).  The buzz around it is that Lynskey is fabulous.  I want to see this so bad!

5. Ruby Sparks Trailer

I feel like maybe I’ve featured this trailer here before, but I’m not sure.  The movie is Ruby Sparks and stars Paul Dano and Zoe Kazan, both of whom I adore.  The movie, sure to be a quirky indie if there ever was one, is about a writer who creates a character who then comes to life.  It looks like it’s going to be charming and very fun.  I can’t wait to see it.

4 thoughts on “Movie Blather and Randomness

  1. I love Hocus Pocus and the fact that Disney wants to NOW make a sequel rather than you know, years ago, well scraping the barrel. This movie is kitschy but NOT sequel worthy.

Leave a Reply

