Viewed this Week (16)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Bunheads 1×3-1×4 “Inherit the Wind” and “Better Luck Next Year!”
True Blood 5×3-5×5, “Whatever I am, You Made Me,” “We’ll Meet Again,” “Boot and Rally”

Movies:
The Amazing Spider-man
American Reunion
Captain America: The First Avenger

Thoughts on what I watched:
Bunheads is kind of underwhelming, and yet I find myself returning to it every week.  I like watching the scenes between Michelle (Foster) and Fannie (Bishop) and Michelle and the girls–actually, I like all the scenes with Michelle.  I don’t love what they’re doing with the really rich guy, and I wish I found the lives of the teenagers more interesting, but I don’t.  It’s still a fun show.  However, if it only lasts a season, I think I’m okay with that.

True Blood is like that drug I can’t quit.  The problem is that I don’t really find it interesting any more.  The only characters I enjoy watching are Jason and Jessica, and even they start to wear thin after a while.  I think Christopher Meloni looks like he’s having a lot of fun on the show, but I’m not having fun watching him.  The show’s pacing feels way, way off–and what’s with all these stupid flashbacks to Terry’s time in the war?  The whole smoke-monster thing has been done to death, guys.  We don’t need more of it.

I saw The Amazing Spider-Man and really liked it.  Despite the fact that the movie is basically a retread of Raimi’s first movie, the casting is great.  Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone have chemistry that crackles onscreen.  MORE.  It was a fun summer flick.

In a moment of weakness and morbid curiosity, I ended up watching American Reunion, and I really wish I hadn’t.  Not only did the film have nothing to add to the American Pie franchise, but the whole thing felt tired.  It’s trying too hard.  Of course it is.  You expect that.  What you don’t expect is that it’s going to try too hard at the same things that were shocking 12 years ago.  Those things? Aren’t that shocking now.  Also, I’m so tired of the fat girl jokes.  Seriously?  This is the lowest common denominator?  I had to fast-forward through the last 30 minutes, and I literally can’t remember the plot of the movie anymore.

Can someone explain how Captain America: The First Avenger did so well at the box office?  The first hour of the movie is really boring.  The most interesting part was seeing Chris Evans’s huge noggin on some other guy’s body.  As for the rest?  The other Avengers movie was much more entertaining.

What did you watch this week?

3 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (16)

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m wondering if Bunheads will get a second season. Honestly, like you, I’d be okay if it didn’t. It just seems so directionless right now that I don’t know what to think about it.

Leave a Reply

