Movie Blather and Randomness

Time for another movie news installment! I’ve got lots of goodies for you guys today.  Let’s get to it without any further ado.

1. The Silver Linings Playbook trailer is live.

The movie, based on the novel by Matthew Quick, stars Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper.  It’s about a man who moves back in with his parents after being released from a mental institution.  He starts up a strange relationship with an equally strange young woman.  Despite my better judgment, I sort of like Bradley Cooper, and I love Jennifer Lawrence.  I also happen to love Matthew Quick, and even though I haven’t read this book, I’m still going to have to check this movie out.

Bonus: Julia Stiles is in it.  Love her.

2. Magic Mike and Feminism

While I saw Magic Mike last week and absolutely loved it (seriously, go see it NOW), there’s still some interesting things to think about with regard to the movie, feminism, and its portrayal of women.  This vulture article talks about some of the problems in the movie and is worth a read.  That being said, I still think Magic Mike is one of the best movies of the year so far (no, seriously).

3. Celeste and Jesse Forever trailer

This one’s been getting a lot of buzz.  Written by Rashida Jones, this one stars her and Andy Samberg (who I feel has untapped potential but kind of blows right n0w) as a couple who divorce but continue to be best friends.  While the people around them can’t understand it, it seems to work until one of them is ready to start really dating again. I can’t wait to see it.

4. This is Not a Test optioned as TV Movie

Sony has picked up the rights to make Courtney Summers’s This is Not a Test into a TV movie.  This doesn’t mean it will happen, though.  It just means they have the rights to do so.  While I’d love to see this book get made into a movie, I’m always so nervous about TV movies.  Either way, this is exciting news for Summers.  (via Courtney Summers’s blog)

5. Compliance trailer is creepy, riveting

This one looks so creepy and well done, I can hardly believe it’s taken this long to get on my radar.  The movie is based on actual events where a prank caller convinced a fast food manager to interrogate an employee for a long time, with the events escalating.  It stars Dreama Walker (she of the bush baby eyes) and is garnering really good buzz.  The trailer makes me so nervous for the film.

That’s it for this week.  Hope you’re enjoying your weekend, all!

4 thoughts on “Movie Blather and Randomness

  1. The Silver Linings Playbook looks sooo good – I’ll have to check out the book! I also want to see Celeste and Jesse Forever. I’m on the fence about Compliance…it does look creepy-ish, but the whole time through the trailer I was just wondering why they didn’t just hang up the phone, or ask to see the caller in person if they were legit. It makes me wonder who the moron is that this movie’s based on…

  2. Sarah says:

    I still haven’t seen Magic Mike. I feel so behind. It’s basically one of the only summer movies I’m excited about.

    Celeste and Jesse Forever looks a lot more interesting than I thought it could be, given its premise. THanks for the roundup!

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      I’ve seen it twice now, and I still think it’s great–definitely one of the best movies of the year so far. I hope you get to see it soon.

Leave a Reply

