Viewed this Week (13)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
True Blood 5×1 – “Turn, Turn, Turn”
Awkward Season 1
Girls 1×9 – “Leave Me Alone”
The Client List 1×8-1×9, “Games People Play” and “Acting Up”

Movies:
Prometheus
Hope Floats
Sex & the City
Sex & the City 2

Thoughts on what I watched:
I swore that I wasn’t going to watch this season of True Blood, but the fact is, there isn’t a lot of stuff worth watching on TV this summer.  Apart from Bunheads and Pretty Little Liars (which is actually kind of boring but I keep watching for some reason), there’s not a lot to look forward to each week, TV-wise.  So I broke down and tuned into the fifth season premiere, and it’s already marginally better than last year’s trainwreck of a season.  I agree with other critics: the further away Sookie stays from Bill and Eric, the better. I  also really like watching Jessica navigate her relationship with Jason/rando frat dudes.  There’s still way too much going on in this show (and could someone please give Sam a decent storyline for once?), but it might get some of its camp back.

Awkward. is a show that keeps getting mentioned as being really good.  I ignored it last season simply because it was on MTV, but watching the first season this week has impressed upon me the fact that it’s frequently very funny and kind of smart.  I still think some of the characters are too ridiculous (which, I realize, is the point), but I’m completely enmeshed in Jenna’s complicated love life.  Whatever.  It’s smart fluff.

I keep saying it, but Girls has really found its footing since the first episode.  While this week’s episode wasn’t my favorite by far, it was still really good.  The fight that Hanna and Marnie have at the end of the episode felt real and horrible.  I found myself so frustrated with Hanna in this episode–which I know was the point, but it was hard to watch.  Marnie was actually in the right, and feeling sympathy for her isn’t something I’m used to.  I also loved the scene between Jessa and Katherine.  Jessa might be my favorite character at this point.

Catching up on The Client List wasn’t as fun as I was hoping it’d be.  At this point, I hate all of the characters (except for J. Love’s fake eyelashes, which I covet).  There was this weird bit about a vibrator in episode 8 and how it was shameful to buy one–that sort of pissed me off.  The people on the show got freaked out by a vibrator when they work in a massage parlor that does a bit of prostitution on the side?  Also, what century do we live in?  Episode 9 was the end of the season, so we’ll have to wait until next year to see what’s going to happen with Riley and her husband’s brother (whose name escapes me–and I can’t be bothered  to look it up).

I went and saw Prometheus with a couple of girlfriends late last weekend and was so, so disappointed by it.  I know it’s been written about to death, so I have nothing else to say about it, really.  I just wanted it to be so much better than it was.  I’m starting to think that the writers had no idea what was going on, either, and just decided to go with it.

My mom and I watched Hope Floats after having a conversation about how Mae Whitman is one of the best criers on TV (my mom is deeply immersed in season 2 of Parenthood right now).  We watched the movie just to watch the scene where a very young Whitman sobs on the street as her dad drives away.  It was a heartbreaker.  Unfortunately, the movie hasn’t held up for me. I remember loving it when I was younger, and now it’s kind of embarrassing (and not in a good way).  Apparently I’m not the only one who thinks so, because Videogum named it one of the worst movies of all time back in 2009.

Class wasn’t held on Wednesday, and since my roommate was at her boyfriend’s, I decided to watch the first Sex and the City movie.  This devolved into watching Sex and the City 2 as well, and it was just ill-advised all around.  While the second movie is often referred to as being problematic for its depictions of race and class, I actually had a huge problem with the first one, too.  There’s so much racism/bigotry played off as humor that it’s uncomfortable.  Also, was the show this terrible?  I hated everyone in the movies.  I don’t remember feeling that way about the show.  It might be time for a re-watch.

What did you watch this week?

4 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (13)

  1. AH Awkward.!! I read the beginning of your post and was about to recommend it. I love that show. It comes back so soon! And Mae Whitman voiced Katara (deuteragonist) in Avatar: The Last Airbender. I watched all 61 episodes in the last three weeks and I don’t know if cartoons are your things but FEELS. So good.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      I’m totally loving Awkward.

      I’m not really a cartoon person at all, but I’ve been following your posts/tweets about it and am totally entertained. I love Mae Whitman, and I might just have to check out the show so I can hear her voice.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      Seriously, I wish I hadn’t watched it. It shattered every positive feeling I ever had about the movie.

Leave a Reply

