It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.  The purpose of the meme is to discuss books we are reading this week, as well as books we completed the previous week.


Books I Completed This Week:

The Raft by S.A. Bodeen: Despite some technical issues with the writing, Bodeen’s adventure/survival story was pretty well paced and plotted.  It’ll be a hit with teens looking for adventure stories featuring girls–think Sharks & Boys with a less annoying narrator.  Review to come.
First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky: It’s interesting to note that I enjoyed this book much more than Kacvinsky’s debut last year, but I still struggled with the characterization here. Gray is a fully formed character, and his voice is quite authentic.  Dylan feels too much like Kirsten Dunst in Elizabethtown.  Review to come.
A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliott: Read for my social justice in children’s/YA literature class, I was surprised by how much I loved this one.  Review to come.
A Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger: By far Keplinger’s strongest book so far. I really liked this one.  Review to come.
Monster by Walter Dean Myers: Read for social justice class. I’m not sure how I felt about this one.
The Giver by Lois Lowry: Read for social justice class. I can’t believe I hadn’t read this one before, and I really liked it.

Books I’m Reading This Week:
Fifty Shades Freed by EL James: I must be some sort of sadist, because I can’t imagine why else I would subject myself to more of this.  UGH.
Holier Than Thou by Laura Buzo: Totally worth the international shipping on this one.

What are you reading this week?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I am currently reading “The Cottage at Glass Beach” which I won on a blog on wordpress. Next book is Fifty Shades Darker – yes the books are badly written but I am curious to know where the story goes.

      • It’s not gripping me. I have abandoned it for Fifty Shades Darker – book 2 of the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy. I will go back to The Cottage At Glass Beach as I hate to leave a book unfinished no matter how bad it is.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      Without a doubt it’s my favorite of her books so far. She’s growing as a writer, that’s for sure.

  2. The only book on your list that I have read is The Giver! It’s amazing. I hold every dystopian book up to The Giver. So interesting. She has two similar books that are *kind of* companions: Gathering Blue and The Messenger.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      There’s actually a fourth companion novel being published this year by Lowry–it’s called “Son” and should be out soon, I think.

  3. I’m excited to read The Raft. From the summary, it reminds me of Hatchet, but I’ll have to read and see if it really does.

    The Giver was one of my favorite books when I was younger. I can’t believe I didn’t see it as dystopian then, but then, I don’t think it was as big a genre as it is now.

Leave a Reply

