Viewed this Week (12)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Girls 1×8 – “Weirdos Need Girlfriends Too”
The Unusuals – The Complete Series
Game of Thrones 2×10 – “Valar Morhulis”

Movies:
Mystic Pizza
Lara Croft: Tomb Raider

This week’s episode of Girls had some particularly funny bits.  I loved watching Marnie wallow in her misery over someone she doesn’t want to be with (but she doesn’t want him to be with anyone else, either).  It was fun to see Chris O’Dowd guest star, but I feel like he was totally miscast.  Was that just me?  I don’t know.  Also, Adam and Hannah are almost cute in their new fully-defined relationship, but Adam himself is totally bizarre.  That shower scene?  I ran into my roommate’s room and made her watch it.  It was hilarious/horrifying.

I ended up watching the entire series of the short-lived but pretty excellent The Unusuals this week.  I’m not going to lie: Jeremy Renner was the driving force behind this decision.  I was surprised by how much I liked it, considering it’s essentially a procedural.  There are things about the show that didn’t work (the woman who did the dispatch calls at the beginning of the episode was supposed to be funny/quirky but was just annoying, for one), but overall, this show was pretty great.  I’m bummed it lasted less than a season.  Dark humor, oddball characters, and excellent casting make this one to check out if you’re looking for summer entertainment (it’s on Netflix Instant and Hulu Plus, I think).

Sad as I am to see another season of Game of Thrones end, I’m pumped about trying to get through the books this summer.  This was a great finale, with a lot of the loose ends wrapped up while still setting the stage for next season.  I loved seeing the transformation of Danaerys from whiny child to regal queen, and Dinklage continues to kill it as Tyrion.  Here’s to next season!

Movies:
My roommate and I watched Mystic Pizza because she had never  seen it.  A few months ago, I (drunkenly) declared it to be a must-see movie.  So we finally got around to watching it, and…I don’t think she liked it as much as I do.  It’s fun to see Julia Roberts in one of her first roles, and Lili Taylor and Annabeth Gish are great in it.  It made us really want some pizza, though. Also, the big 80s hair made me all sorts of jealous.

Lara Croft: Tomb Raider was an impulse watch, largely out of boredom.  I hadn’t seen it in years, and it hasn’t held up.  It’s weirdly boring while also being totally offensive, and any positive feelings I had towards Angelina Jolie when she filmed it have long since vanished.  I did enjoy seeing Daniel Craig in it, though.  There are moments when he looks like Jeremy Renner (I. Am. OBSESSED.), which is fun.

What did you watch this week?

Leave a Reply

