Uncategorized

Viewed this Week (11)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Girls 1×7 – “Welcome to Bushwick a.k.a. the Crackcident”
Game of Thrones 2×8-2×9 – “The Prince of Winterfell” and “Blackwater”
Bunheads 1×1 – “Pilot”

Movies:
Cruel Intentions
21 Jump Street

Thoughts on what I watched:
This might have been my favorite episode of Girls yet.  I thought everything about the episode was perfect, from Marnie’s complete breakdown about the fact that Charlie is seeing someone new (you’re awful, Marnie, and I hate you) to Hannah’s complete inability to see how self-involved she is (that scene where Adam yells at her is the first time I felt like he was an actual person) to Shoshana’s crack-induced meltdown and subsequent no-pants attack on Ray in the street.  This show is so great.  That last scene in the cab with Oh Land playing?  Perfect.

I fell a week behind on Game of Thrones and managed to catch up to speed this week.  The battle scenes of “Blackwater” were epic and gruesome, just as I expected them to be, but my favorite scenes were between Cersei and Sansa as they waited out the war in the keep of the castle.  The contrast between Cersei’s desire to be on the battlefields and Sansa’s desire to be anywhere but next to Cersei were exceedingly well done.  However, my favorite scene from both episodes was Robb’s realization that he doesn’t want to marry the woman he’s been promised to and his subsequent grabbing/kissing/lovin’ of Talisa Maegyr.  There’s not enough tenderness between lovers on this show, and I loved seeing it for once.  Ugh, my sentimentality is showing.  Gross.

Bunheads was posted for a limited amount of time on the internet ahead of its premiere on June 11th.  I managed to watch it, and I’m embarrassed about how much I liked it.  It’s got Gilmore Girls alum Amy Sherman-Palladino helming the show, and the pilot is full of whip-smart dialogue.  Sutton Foster (a Broadway actress) plays the show’s lead, and she’s got really good comedic timing.  I’m kind of in love with this show already and can’t wait for it to premiere.  Anyone else watch it when it was available online?

When my computer died (R.I.P. Peedinkus), I had a minor panic attack, borrowed my mom’s laptop, and watched Cruel Intentions on Netflix.  It had been years since I’d seen the movie, and I had forgotten how seriously it takes itself.  You guys, it is like the worst movie ever.  It’s campy and self-important and totally ridiculous.  I loved it.  Sarah Michelle Gellar is super over-the-top evil and Ryan Phillippe is just too pretty.  Selma Blair is great as innocent-turned-slut Cecile, and there are a ton of 90s stars in it that you’ve probably forgotten about.  I approve.

21 Jump Street was a straight-up hot mess.  I never watched the show it was based on, so maybe there’s a nostalgia-factor there, but I flat-out hated this movie.  Ugh.  As much as I like Channing Tatum (Charming Potato), I’m realizing that I don’t really like Jonah Hill (something about him is sort of shrill?).  The movie is a total stoner-buddy-cop mash-up, and while I’m sure it works for some people, it didn’t work for me.

What did you watch this week?

2 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (11)

  1. I totally loved 21 Jump Street. It defied any expectations I had for it, lol. And I actually liked Channing Tatum in it MORE than anything else I’ve seen him in.

    Bunheads! Totally fell for it and I want the 2nd episode NOW. No more waiting.

    1. Despite myself, I do kind of like Channing Tatum. He seems very genuine in interviews, and that goes a long way with me.

      Bunheads was great. I thought the pilot was a little uneven, pacing-wise, but I loved the dancing. I have high hopes.

Leave a Reply

