pop culture

Viewed this Week (9)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Girls 1×5 – “Hard Being Easy”
Game of Thrones 2×7 – “A Man Without Honor”
Scandal Season 1 (1×1-1×7)
The Client List 1×5-1×6 – “Try, Try Again” “The Cold Hard Truth”
Community 3×20-3×22 – “Digital Estate Planning” “The First Chang Dynasty” “Introduction to Finality”

Movies:
This Means War
Tiny Furniture
The Client List (TV Movie)

Thoughts on what I watched:
Turns out my sister has been watching Girls and is a total fan of the show.  I remain devoted to watching the first season–and have warmed to Lena Dunham considerably–but still feel super uncomfortable about the show (which is, of course, the point).  This episode was pretty great, actually.  I had a hard time watching the scenes between Marnie and Charlie–and was relieved when they broke up.  The scenes between Hannah and Adam were hilariously awful.  Just…totally awful.  He makes all of my ex-boyfriends look like gems, which is saying something.

My biggest problem with Game of Thrones–apart from the violence–is how much I struggle to watch an episode in one sitting.  I love the show.  I do.  Now that Jon Snow’s story is picking up again, I’m much more invested in his character.  I still think that it’s one of the best things on television right now.  But there’s something about the pacing that has been sitting wrong with me.  Some scenes fly by while others absolutely drag.  It’s probably just me.  Either way, I still love this show.  It just sometimes takes me more than one attempt to watch a full episode.

Scandal? Is my new guilty pleasure.  I know I wrote about it in yesterday’s post, but it bears repeating: I devoured the first seven episodes this past week and can barely stand that I have to wait until next fall to see more.  It’s not a perfect show–it’s actually completely ridiculous–but I love it anyway. MORE!

I’m all caught up on The Client List, and I actually watched the TV movie it’s based on.  That was AWFUL.  AWFUL.  Seriously, the worst.  It makes the eponymous show seem like Shakespeare by comparison.  The show remains completely ridiculous and totally sudsy, just the way I like it.  Predictions for the last few episodes of the first season: JLH’s brother-in-law will make a pass at her, her husband will return, and there’ll be a bust–or an almost bust–on the store.

Community has been up and down for me this season, but I have to say: that video game episode?  Absolutely awesome.  I’m glad that the show has been renewed for another season, even if it has been moved to Friday nights, ensuring that I’ll never watch it live.  Oh, Community.  I love you.

You guys, I don’t know what to say about This Means War.  It’s literally the most unintentionally creepy movie I’ve ever watched.  The homo-eroticism–intentional or not–is laughable.  The movie is also really, really boring.  I had to fast-forward the last bit just to get through it.  I wasn’t expecting much, but I didn’t expect it to be that bad, either.  Ugh.

Tiny Furniture is a movie I started a while ago and then never finished.  After texting with my sister about Girls this week, she urged me to watch it.  So I did.  And I liked it–especially all the cast members who make appearances in both the movie and on Girls–but I didn’t love it.  Dunham is certainly the queen of incredibly uncomfortable truths, and I think that the movie’s final scene was particularly poignant.  I just wish there had been a little more there, you know?

What did you watch this week?

Leave a Reply

