Viewed this Week (8)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Girls 1×4 – “Hannah’s Diary”
Game of Thrones 2×6 – “The Old Gods and the New”
New Girl 1×24 – “See Ya”
Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23 1×4 – “The Wedding”

Movies:
One for the Money

Thoughts on what I watched:

I’ve read some commentary that this week’s episode of Girls finally got down to the funny, but I don’t know.  While I still enjoy the show, I found this episode to be particularly uncomfortable, and not in a fun way.  The good: Hannah’s “I can’t do this anymore” speech to her not-quite-defined-boy Adam (followed by leaping into his arms) was a moment that every girl has wished she’d had at some point (my revelations are usually slurred, teary, and nearly incoherent–and the boy has a tendency to run away).  I still think the show is worth tuning in for, but I’m not quite as enamored with it as I was.

Game of Thrones continues to be awesome, dark, and completely violent.

New Girl‘s season finale was pretty great, I have to admit.  I loved, loved, loved the dance scene at the very end of the episode.  While I didn’t think there was anything particularly shocking or surprising in the episode (except, perhaps, Nick’s attempt to “White Fang” CeCe), I was fairly happy with how things ended.  I’m looking forward to next season.

The problem with Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23 is that the sheen has worn off somewhat.  While I think that Van Der Beek continually kills it playing an exaggerated version of himself, the rest of the show doesn’t really work for me.  It’s like the show isn’t quite sure what it wants to be–and there isn’t enough happening in each episode for me to find it particularly compelling.  Also, I’m getting tired of the fact that Kristen Ritter’s character seems to learn a lesson only to forget it by the end of the episode.

One for the Money was a movie that I didn’t really want to watch–but I did anyway, perhaps out of morbid curiosity.  I watched it at the beginning of this week and have already forgotten it.  That’s how completely unremarkable it was.  It’s not that it was even particularly offensive–it was completely innocuous.  I haven’t read the Stephanie Plum books, so I have nothing to compare it to.

  What did you watch this week?

2 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (8)

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ll probably eventually watch One for the Money because I have fond memories of the early Steph Plum books but I’m not in any particular rush.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      I’m sure being familiar with the source material evokes a stronger reaction: either positive or negative.

Leave a Reply

