Viewed this Week (7)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Girls 1×3 – “All Adventurous Women Do”
New Girl 1×23 – “Backslide”
The Client List, Season 1, Episodes 1-4 (“The Rub of Sugarland,” “Turn the Page,” “Tough Love,” and “Ring True”)
Game of Thrones 2×5 – “The Ghost of Harrenhal”

Movies:
The Five-Year Engagement
The Hunger Games
Cinderella (Disney version)
The Vow
Saved by the Bell: Hawaiian Style

The most recent episode of Girls was better than the pilot but not quite as funny as “Vagina Panic.”  I’m nervous about what’s happening with all the characters–and still have no idea what most of their names are, to be honest–but the scene between Hannah (Lena Dunham) and her gay ex-boyfriend was pretty great.  Considering the fact that the show has already been renewed for a second season–things are looking up for the series.

You guys, I almost considered not putting The Client List on here, because I’m so embarrassed about it.  But I feel like that’s being totally dishonest, and what’s more is that I want to talk about it.  The show is really bad–I have no illusions about that–but I can’t seem to stop watching.  Jennifer Love Hewitt looks great–the budget for false eyelashes alone is probably more than I make in a year–and even though she can’t seem to do a Texas accent to save her life (wasn’t she born in Texas, too?), I’m totally invested in her character (not to mention the sexual tension between her and her brother-in-law–yeah, it’s that kind of show).  At any rate, I like it, and even though I haven’t seen the eponymous TV movie it’s based on (um…yet), I’m definitely tuning in every week.  It’s total escapism.

The penultimate episode of New Girl was kind of a let down.  I’m not pleased with what they’re doing with Nick’s character (all of it feels like stalling before he and Jess get together), and the presence of Caroline bums me out.  Schmidt and Cece are bordering on the boring, and Winston is still off on his own show.  We’ll have to see if the show regains its footing in the season finale.  Justin Long does an excellent ugly cry, though.

Game of Thrones continues to be consistently great TV.  I’m not sure what else I have to say about it right now–there are a ton of sites that do great recaps–but I am intrigued by what’s happening with Arya’s character especially.  She’s growing up so fast, y’all.  Also, the moment where Dany realizes that she can no longer trust her adviser to be completely objective?  Brilliant.

The Five-Year Engagement was a complete disappointment, both for me and at the box office.  I wanted it to be so much better than it was.  What I ended up with was a movie that was completely uneven, way, way too long, and kind of a bummer.  While both Emily Blunt and Jason Segel were great–and great together–the rest of the half-assed plot didn’t work for me, and I left feeling totally let down.

I went and saw The Hunger Games with a friend who hadn’t seen it yet.  It’s as great as it was the first time–and I picked up on things I didn’t before.  I’m excited about the people in the movie (Liam Hemsworth notwithstanding), and I’m excited about the future installments.  Have you seen it yet?  If not, why not?

I was in the need for some comfort viewing, and so I watched the Disney animated version of Cinderella.  For some reason, this was always one of my favorite fairy tales when I was little (it was second to The Little Mermaid), and I’m always game to watch any incarnation of the story.  It had been years since I watched this version, and I was surprised by how much time was devoted to the mice–and I had a really hard time understanding their little sped-up voices.  Apart from that, it was pretty much what I remembered.

The Vow was so boring, you guys.  I didn’t expect it to be good–it’s why I didn’t see it in the theater–but I didn’t expect it to drag the way it did.  I actually had to watch it in two parts because I got so bored halfway through I switched to something else.  While I like Rachel McAdams immensely and think that Channing Tatum has a sort of appeal that I can’t articulate (or maybe don’t want to), this did nothing for me.  Just the worst kind of sappy drivel imaginable.  Also, what is up with Rachel McAdams wearing the worst wigs ever (in every movie)?

Up until my most recent viewing of Saved by the Bell: Hawaiian Style, I wasn’t aware the movie had a plot.  Apparently it does: the gang goes to a resort owned by Kelly’s uncle in Hawaii and try to stop an evil resort-chain developer from buying up the land around the failing hotel.  Shenanigans ensue.  It’s actually really boring, and I’m pretty sure most of it was filmed in front of a green screen–even the beach scenes.  The best part of the movie: Kelly wears her hair sort of crimpy-curly.  It’s official: I’ve watched too much Saved by the Bell.  Also, without the show’s laugh-track, I’m not sure what parts are supposed to be funny.  That wasn’t snark: that’s an actual observation.

What did you watch this week?

3 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (7)

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve been hearing from way too many people that the Five Year Engagement is a let down. This makes me so, so sad. But I guess I have a better reason to wait for it to come out on DVD now.

    The Client List… soapy, addictive fun. Yes, we all need TV shows like that!

Leave a Reply

