pop culture

Viewed this Week (6)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

TV:
Girls 1×2 – “Vagina Panic”
Game of Thrones 2×4 – “Garden of Bones”
New Girl 1×22 – “Tomatoes”

Movies:
The Princess and the Marine (TV Movie)
New Year’s Eve

It’s interesting to watch the backlash regarding Girls continue on full-speed ahead.  I know I posted about it last week–and linked to some good articles–but it keeps gaining momentum.  This week, Pajiba posted an interesting article about the whole concept of whether or not it’s simply about class, and if it’s important to have characters viewers like.  Despite my issues with the show, I’m going to continue to watch it, and I actually found the characters much more sympathetic in the second episode.  In “Vagina Panic,” the girls deal with gynecological visits, a potential abortion, and the scary reality of sex with more than one partner.  There were some particularly brilliant moments, and while I don’t think the show’s humor is going to appeal to everyone (and a lot of people aren’t going to get it, natch), I think it’s very funny.  I just wish it were more diverse.  Sigh.

This past week’s episode of Game of Thrones was absolutely brutal.  While I think it was exceedingly well-done and agree with the general consensus that it was one of the best episodes yet (especially this season), I had a hard time watching it, man.  I can’t handle scenes of torture, and both the scenes with the rat in the bucket and the scene in Joffrey’s bedroom were excruciating.  Every week I’m impressed at the talent of the cast and the incredible detail and care that goes into the costumes, the sets, and the stories.  It’s such a great show, you guys.

As bummed as I was that Jess and Russell broke up on New Girl, the fight scene between Jess and Nick was so unbelievably awesome that it almost made up for it.  I was so tense while I was watching it (whatever, I had had a long day, okay?) that I was actually clutching at my face.  I can’t believe I just admitted to that, but there it is.  I still think the show could do with some improvements (they need to figure out what it is that Winston is supposed to be doing and why it seems like he’s actually on a different show), but holy guacamole do I love this show.

The Princess and the Marine was a TV movie that was made in 2001.  I can’t explain my particular obsession with it.  It’s actually really embarrassing.  It starred Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Marisol Nichols (who I think is so, so beautiful), and was exactly what it sounded like: an American marine falls in love with a Bahraini girl who is related to royalty.  The movie is based on real events but is incredibly problematic (least of which is its creative casting).  Rewatching Saved by the Bell reminded me of the movie, which is why I watched it.  I’m a simple girl sometimes.  I think I might actually do a review post of it, so stay tuned for that!

New Year’s Eve is one of the worst movies I’ve ever had the misfortune of sitting through. That’s really all I have to say about it.

What did you watch this week?

One thought on “Viewed this Week (6)

Leave a Reply

