Uncategorized

Viewed this Week (5)

Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.
TV:
Game of Thrones Season 2, Episodes 1-3: “The North Remembers,” “The Night Lands,” “What is Dead May Never Die”
New Girl 1×21 – “Kids”
Girls – 1×1 – “Pilot”

Thoughts on what I watched:
Game of Thrones continues to be really great, though I find myself more invested in certain story lines than others.  I could watch Tyrion (Peter Dinklage) all day.  Being all caught up is weird–I don’t like having to wait for the next episode, so I can’t imagine that I’ll be in a good mood when the season’s over.

This week’s episode of New Girl was entertaining, but it wasn’t as stellar as last week’s.  I realize that this is often the case when you have a truly standout episode, but it doesn’t mean that I wasn’t disappointed.  While Sarah’s misconceptions about sex were amusing (as were Schmidt’s potential baby names), I think casting Jeanne Tripplehorn was a mistake (homegirl can’t act–has never been able to), and any episode without McDermot is wasted, in my opinion.  I did like the jokes about the girl Nick was dating, if only because they hit a little close to home (FYI–I’ve never dated anyone that young, but my friends like to joke about it all the same).

Probably one of the most-talked about premieres this spring is HBO’s Girls.  I watched the pilot, and while I certainly loved parts of it, I don’t think I can talk about it without talking about how problematic it is, too.  Many critics have taken issue with the fact that there isn’t a single likable character on the show–this doesn’t bother me so much, because I think this will change as the show progresses.  What does bother me (and I’m not the only one by far) is how the show keeps being described as the voice of this generation.  Um, okay.  What we have on this show are four white girls who were raised upper-middle-class.  This is not the voice of a generation–this is the voice of white privilege.  Kendra James has a great open letter to Lena Dunham on Racialicious, and I encourage  you all to check it out.  Even if you don’t agree completely with James, it’s worth reading and considering.  I think Girls has a lot of potential, but I also think it has a long way to go.  (There’s also some insane nepotism going on with the casting, and I’m not sure how I feel about that, either.)

What did you watch this week?

4 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (5)

  1. I watched two movies this week – The girl with the dragon tattoo and friends with benefits. I know they released a (considerably) long time ago but i only got around to watching them now. I blame it on my work schedule ( though i’m sure my laziness might also have a part in it) 🙂 And on TV, I currently watch American Horror Story and reruns of various other shows the favorites of which are Supernatural, Two and a half men and 30 Rock.

    1. I’ve seen both those movies, and I liked both of them more than I thought I would. There’s no shame in being late to the party!

      I never got into American Horror Story, and then I accidentally spoiled myself on it and have lost any interest in watching it. I do like Supernatural, though.

  2. I could watch Tyrion all day too! Seriously he needs more time in the episodes. Like you, I’m all caught up on Game of Thrones and I had the same reaction. how am I going to wait week to week like everyone else??

    I still need to watch Girls. Thanks for the links!

    1. My crush on Peter Dinklage is ridiculous. I think he’s so phenomenal.

      I’d be really interested to hear your take on Girls, so I hope you get a chance to watch it.

Leave a Reply

