pop culture

Viewed this Week (3)

I’m trying a new feature on the blog.  Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

Movies:
The Muppets

TV:
House of Lies — Season 1
New Girl 1×19 — “Secrets”

I’m not sure what I was expecting when I sat down to watch The Muppets, but I was surprised by how much I didn’t really like it.  Most of my childhood associations with the muppets had to do with Muppet Babies, and not The Muppet Show proper.  Therein might lie the problem, to be honest.  I wasn’t expecting the random songs or the overtly cheesy tone of the movie (I get that it was intentional, okay?).  While I enjoyed some of the in-jokes and liked the cameos (there were a lot of them), nothing about this movie is going to stick with me.  It was totally forgettable.  What a bummer.

I devoured almost all of the first season of House of Lies in one night.  Once I started, I couldn’t stop.  As a fan of both Don Cheadle and Kristen Bell, I’m embarrassed it took me the entire season before checking it out.  While the show’s not perfect, it’s got an amazing cast, and I’m thrilled it’s been renewed for another season.  Expect me to talk more about this show sometime this month.  I can’t believe I have to wait until 2013 for new episodes!  (Also, Ben Schwartz might be my new boyfriend.)

This week’s New Girl wasn’t my favorite, but it still had some great moments.  Nick’s face when he finds out about Cece and Schmidt was pretty much priceless.  Also, how great was Winston’s lecture about Saturday mornings?  They finally gave him something to do, and it was glorious.  I love this show so much.  I can’t help it.

 

What did you watch this week?

4 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (3)

  1. 1. I had the reverse of your Muppets experience; was totally surprised by how much I loved it.

    2. I’m just glad Ben Schwartz is still going to get to guest star in Parks & Rec even with being a regular on House of Lies.

    3. :(. I watch New Girl on Hulu, so I still haven’t seen the most recent episode and am always sad about having to wait an extra WEEK to see the new episodes.

  2. I love this idea. I might adopt it! I watch a lot of T.V. Neither of these shows though. Maybe I’ll give House of Lies a chance though

Leave a Reply

