pop culture

Viewed this Week (2)

I’m trying a new feature on the blog.  Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere’s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

Movies:
The Hunger Games
Notting Hill
Keeping the Faith

TV:
Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23 – 1×1 “Pilot”
New Girl – 1×18 “Fancyman Part 2”
Happy Endings – 2×20 “Big White Lies”

Thoughts on What I Viewed This Week:

The Hunger Games was even better than I thought it would be.  I totally loved every minute of it, and I can’t wait to see it again.  Jennifer Lawrence totally embodies Katniss, and everyone else was well-cast, too (with the exception of Liam Hemsworth, who, bless his heart, just doesn’t have it).  I won’t be reviewing the movie on the blog–I don’t feel comfortable trying to tackle it–but it’s definitely worth seeing.

My mom and I watched Notting Hill on Sunday afternoon.  In the post-breakup haze, it seemed like a good idea.  It’s one of her favorite movies, and we both love the scenes with all of Hugh Grant’s friends.  I forgot how much of a total douche Julia Roberts’s character is, though.  Girl has nothing going for her except for her beauty.  Still a cute movie, though.

Keeping the Faith is one of my favorite, favorite romantic comedies.  I can’t explain it, you guys.  No one in the entire cast is anywhere close to being favorite actors of mine, but something about the chemistry between Ben Stiller, Ed Norton, and Jenna Elfman is so perfect in this movie.  Plus, Jewish humor, and one of my favorite mini-rants in the history of film:

Jake: Ok, you want an example? I take her out to dinner, I order dessert, she says she doesn’t want any, I get pecan pie. She asks me for a bite, I give her a bite, her face swells up like a chipmunk, she looks at me and says, “Oh, my God, are there nuts in this?”
Ruth:So what?
Jake: Mom! It was pecan pie.

It might be all in the delivery, you guys, but it is amazing.

So ABC is offering the pilot of Don’t Trust the B—– in Apartment 23 early on Hulu.  Of course I jumped at the chance to watch it–I like Krysten Ritter a whole lot, and any chance to hear Dawson’s Creek jokes is an opportunity I take full advantage of.  While the pilot wasn’t great, there were some genuinely funny moments, and I’m definitely continuing to tune in.

I’m not the only one who thinks that New Girl has really found its stride recently.  The second part of “Fancyman” was almost as good as the first, and it only grew in my esteem the second time I watched it.  I want Dermot Mulroney to stick around, but I’m not sure that’s happening.  Also, Drunk Nick?  is one of my favorite things ever, despite how totally obnoxious he was.  Also, I’m all for any appearance that Martin Starr wants to make on any show, ever.

 

Happy Endings is the most consistently funny show that I watch, and this week’s episode didn’t disappoint.  As everyone’s lies spun more and more out of control, the cast really delivered their lines.  Jane’s faux-pregnancy, Alex’s faux-lesbianism, and Max’s desire to be part of the lies were by far the best bits of the episode.  So great.

What did you watch this week?

4 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (2)

  1. Keeping the Faith is one of my favorite movies, and every time I tell someone that, they look at me like I have fifteen heads. No one has ever heard of it!

    I definitely agree with Happy Endings – it is one of the funniest shows on tv and way under-appreciated. And Drunk Nick? SO. FUNNY.

  2. Both parts of Fancyman have been so awesome. That back pat was just hilarious and whenever I even think about Winston and Defying Gravity I cry of laughter. I need to find a Canadian think for Apt. 23!

  3. I love Happy Endings. Jane and Brad are my fave and the cast as a whole just really has a great dynamic!

    I’m glad to hear abt the Apt show. I have been kind of meh about watching it but I think I’ll give the Hulu episode a try.

Leave a Reply

