Viewed this Week (1)

I’m trying a new feature on the blog this week.  Inspired by Ticket to Anywhere‘s What I Watched, I’ve decided to try to post on Sundays about what movies and/or TV shows I watched the week before.  Some weeks will be epic, and some weeks…won’t be.  There’s no hurt in trying, though, right?  The format might change as I figure out what I want this to be.

Movies:
Game Change (TV movie)
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
The Descendents
Hook

TV:
New Girl – 1×17  “Fancyman Pt. 1”
2 Broke Girls – 1×18 “And the Spring Break”
Switched at Birth – 1×22 “Venus, Cupid, Folly & Time”

Thoughts on what I watched:
I’m not sure what I was expecting, but HBO’s TV movie Game Change exceeded any expectations I had about it.  Both Julianne Moore and Ed Harris were pitch-perfect as Sarah Palin and John McCain, but it was Moore’s devotion to portraying every verbal tic and every facial expression that made her so believable.  The film was also extremely fair in its representation of what happened, and I think they added a surprising level of depth to Palin’s character.  I might not agree with the woman about anything and am more sure than ever that she’s unfit for political office, but I certainly sympathized with her situation.  That’s more than I ever thought I would do.

When I watched Rise of the Planet of the Apes, I couldn’t figure out if it was a comedy or not.  I thought it was really terrible, and I remembered hearing good things about it when it came out last year, but I wondered if I was the only one who wasn’t in on the joke.  Then I read some reviews, and I realized that I’m…in the minority?  A lot of people really liked it?  What did I miss?  It was overly long, way too self-important, and kind of simpering in its simplistic, anti-animal-testing message.  It might just be that I hate James Franco to the point where I can’t watch him in anything.  I think he’s absolutely insufferable.

The Descendents was much more slow moving than I had anticipated–and I expected it to be pretty slow.  While the cast gave good performances, none of them were Oscar-worthy, and I often felt like the dialogue was stilted.  I still maintain that Clooney plays a version of himself in nearly everything he’s in, but maybe I’m being unfair.

Hook was a spur-of-the-moment decision during a Netflix binge at Skylaw’s house with a couple of friends.  We drank some wine and reminisced about our respective childhoods about the movie.  I still get upset when Rufio dies, though.  Scandalous.

I thought this week’s episode of New Girl was really funny, and I’m curious to see how far they’ll explore the Dermot Mulroney guest-spot with Jess.  I’m not going to lie: I laughed really hard when she fell in that Koi pond, and I thought Nick’s whole obsession with the fancy office was absolutely dead-on and hilarious.  So much of that was improvised, and it was fantastic.  I seriously love this show, and while the whimsy can get carried away, it kept it pretty balanced this week.  I hate what CeCe’s doing to her bangs, though.

 

To be honest, I’m embarrassed about the fact that I’m still watching 2 Broke Girls.  I don’t think it’s very funny, creative, or worthwhile.  Yet I keep tuning in, week after week.  My love for Kat Dennings only goes so far, and my complete disdain for Beth Behrs (homegirl is so generic in every way) almost cancels out the Dennings love.  And yet, I keep watching.  Ugh.

The season finale of Switched at Birth offered much of what I anticipated.  While I’m sympathetic to Bay’s hurt over Emmett’s betrayal, all of it feels so played out. I still wish they had done something better with Simone’s character, and man do they ever need to give Toby a real story line.  I suppose Wilke’s whole “being shipped off to boarding school” thing is a nice way to get Daphne and the new guy together, so that will be interesting.  I still love this show, despite griping about it.

Also, neither of the dresses on our girls fit quite right.

What did you watch this week?  Anything good?

3 thoughts on “Viewed this Week (1)

  1. I loved New Girl this week! I can’t wait for the second part. Argh, must catch up with SAB! I think I’m on episode 1×13… guilty. And oy, those dresses…

  2. Sarah says:

    I love Hook! It’s still one of my all time favorite movies. I haven’t seen it in years though. Obviously I’m due for a rewatch.

Leave a Reply

