books and reading

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.  The purpose of the meme is to discuss books we are reading this week, as well as books we completed the previous week.


Books I Completed Last Week:

Being Friends With Boys by Terra Elan McVoy: This one was really great.  The exploration of complicated relationships–both familial and otherwise–was really satisfying and thoughtful.  Review to come closer to release date.
The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder: I loved this one.  Quirky, sweet, and sad.  Quite near perfect.  Review to come.
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver: I really liked this one and think it was stronger than the first in the trilogy, but a predictable, supposed-to-be-shocking ending irritated me.  Review to come.
Sisters of Glass by Stephanie Hemphill: I don’t think I quite understood the point of using verse in this otherwise fairly interesting story.  Review to come.
The Queens of All the Earth by Hannah Sternberg: This retelling of a Room with a View had lovely moments, but it also dragged quite a bit.  Review to come.

Books I’m Reading This Week:
Fever by Lauren DeStefano: I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this one.  There are things about it that are making me uncomfortable, and I can’t shake the feeling that the novel has more appeal to adults than teens, but I guess we’ll see.
The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour: I’ve been looking forward to this one for a long time.

What are you reading this week?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Leave a Reply

