books and reading

In My Mailbox (48)

In My Mailbox (IMM) is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.  This meme allows bloggers to share the books they’ve received over the course of the week.  I’m trying to participate in part because I think it’s fun, and in part because I want to keep track of what I’m getting (and how that differs from what I’m reading).

From Netgalley:
The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker: This one seems to be about some sort of worldwide disaster, and I’m really looking forward to it.
Torn by Stephanie Guerra: This looks like it could be either really good or really didactic.  Time will tell.
Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins: I’m in the mood for a good contemporary romance, and I hear Higgins is the author for just that.
Dying to Know You by Aidan Chambers: Even after reading the description, I’m not entirely sure what this one is about, but it sounds intriguing.
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: Perhaps a little out of my normal genres, this one looks pretty fun.
Erebos by Ursula Poznanski: Looks like a fun fantasy.
The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman: This one looks dark and intriguing.
Romeo Redeemed by Stacy Jay: I haven’t read the first in this series, but the cover was too good for me to pass up.
The Unbearable Book Club for Unsinkable Girls by Julie Schumaker: This one looks really sweet.  We’ll see.


From the Library:

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth: This one earned a starred review from Kirkus (essentially my bible), and I’ve had it on my radar for a while.  Excited.
The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour: Another starred review, this one sounds so awesome.  Music, roadtrips, and complicated friendship.  Yes.
Various Positions by Martha Schabas: Another novel about the professional ballet world.  Excited!
Three Girls and Their Brother by Theresa Rebeck: I stumbled across this doing research for a genre reading project and think it looks really interesting.

2 thoughts on “In My Mailbox (48)

  1. Ooohh I’m super jealous about your Aidan Chambers netgalley! I think Chambers is more well-known in the UK, but I stumbled across somehow in 2009 and have read most of his work since then and he’s become one of my favourite authors. (: You have some other great hauls here as well (I’m especially intrigued with The Book of Blood and Shadow, The Disenchantments and the Miseducation of Cameron Post).

Leave a Reply

