pop culture

2012 Movies I Can’t Wait to See

In a fit of total work procrastination, I spent some time looking at the year’s upcoming releases.  I’m a fan of movies good, bad, and in between, but these are some of the movies coming out in 2012 that I’m most excited for.  In the interest of being able to provide both posters and trailers for the films, I’ve only included films released through June.

If I’m organized enough, I’ll do another one of these posts for the second half of the year.

Friends With Kids (March 9, 2012) (Limited)

Written and directed by Jennifer Westfeldt (who also did the great Kissing Jessica Stein), Friends With Kids boasts an impressive cast (I’m pretending that Megan Fox isn’t in the movie) and a potentially great concept: two friends decide to have and raise a kid together without actually being together.  I feel like it’s probably going to veer into romantic-comedy territory, but I like the people in it so much that I don’t even really care.

Jeff, Who Lives at Home (March 16, 2012) (Limited)

A good cast (Susan Sarandon, Jason Segel, Ed Helms) and an intriguing premise (Jeff goes to buy glue and looks for signs from the universe) make this film noteworthy.  It looks totally offbeat, quirky, and smart.  We’ll see.

The Hunger Games (March 23, 2012)

Do I even need to elaborate on this one.  My mom and I saw a preview for it this week and she turned to me and said, “I can’t remember the last time I was so excited for a movie.”  It warmed my shriveled little heart.

(For some reason the imbedded link isn’t working; go here to watch)

Snow White and the Huntsman (June 1, 2012)

There are two movies about Snow White coming out this year, and while I’ll probably see both of them, this is the one I’m most excited about.  It looks absolutely epic–and like a genuine twist on the tale.  Charlize Theron is actually killing it in the trailer.  Killing it.

Brave (June 22, 2012)

It’s not just that Brave is Pixar’s first movie to feature a female lead.  That’s part of it.  More important, however, is that the story looks good, the voice actors are some of my favorites (hello Kelly MacDonald), and the animation looks top-notch.  I’m not a big animated movie fan in general, but this is high on my to-see list.

What movies are you looking forward to this year?

3 thoughts on “2012 Movies I Can’t Wait to See

    1. I think Snow White looks totally ridiculous, and that’s why I think it’ll be fun to see.

      I’m really looking forward to Brave, though. I’m worried about my expectations.

Leave a Reply

