It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.  The purpose of the meme is to discuss books we are reading this week, as well as books we completed the previous week.

Books I Completed Last Week:
Shut Out by Kody Keplinger: Much like The DUFF, I didn’t love this one.  I see what Keplinger was trying to do, but I’m not convinced it worked.  Review to come.
Sea by Heidi R. Kling: Loved this one.  Review to come.

Books I’m Reading This Week:
Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler: I’m strugging to get into this one, but I’m sure once I do, it’ll be smooth sailing.
Catching Jordan by Miranda Keneally: I’ve read mixed reviews about this one.  We’ll see.

What are you reading this week?

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Books I Completed Last Week:

    Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan: I didn’t really enjoy this one. There were too many chapters narrated by different characters and sub plots that were pointless. Read the review here: http://danishields.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/review-naomi-and-elys-no-kiss-list-by-rachel-cohn-and-david-levithan/

    Good Girls by Laura Ruby: I liked this book. Sexism and sex was explored and the characters were interesting. Review will be posted later today.

    Books I’m Reading This Week:

    Nobody’s Girl by Sarra Manning: I just started reading this book last night and I have high hopes for it. The plot seems really good and exploring Spain and France will be really exciting. Sarra Manning is one of my favourite authors so I have no doubt this will be a good read!

    Matched by Ally Condie: I’ve wanted to read this book for about six months now, but for some reason I could never get my hands on it. Now I’ve got my hands on it and I’m not enjoying it as much as I expected. So I’m going to read Nobody’s Girl first and then give Matched a second try.

  2. Hope Bittersweet gets good! It seems so sweet, for lack of a better word.

    And I also am not the biggest fan of Kody Keplinger’s. I think she’s great as a person and I admire what she’s trying to do with slut-shaming in YA but her characters don’t gel with me.

  3. Books I Read Last Week:
    Shatter Me: LOVED IT.

    The Babysitter Murders: oh gosh, so freaky, but really good.

    What Did I Do Wrong? When You Don’t Know Why the Friendship Ended: gahhhhhh i have many feelings about this one. really liked it, but also a bit conflicted.

    Chopsticks: I liked it, but not as much as other people seem to.

    Now Reading… She’s So Money, which i’ve had on my shelves forever. liking it more than i expected so far.

  4. oh also i really hope you end up liking Bittersweet and I can’t wait to read your review of Shut Out… after The Duff I told myself I wouldn’t read anymore of Keplinger’s stuff, but SO was nominated for the cybils and I figured it couldn’t hurt to give her books a second chance but they’re just really really not for me.

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      I’m more into Bittersweet and am enjoying it.

      Keplinger’s books…there’s something about them that I can’t get past. This one was even less enjoyable than The DUFF.

Leave a Reply

