Lists and Procrastination: 5 Things I’m Into For the Moment

Gentle Readers, welcome!  It’s time for another installment of Things I’m Currently Obsessed With.  Previous installments can be found here, here, here, here, here, hereherehere, here, and here.  (I realize that at some point, I’m going to have to make a separate page for this.)

1. Friday Night Lights on Netflix

I watched the first season a long time ago and loved it, but I couldn’t keep up with the show.  Now that it’s available on Netflix Instant, I’ve been watching the show like crazy.  Skylaw* has an absolutely insane TV/entertainment setup in his house, and I’ve gotten him hooked, too.  Watching the show on his huge flatscreen is infinitely better than watching it on my MacBook.

2. Sporcle.com

Work has been slow, and Sporcle’s quizzes have been keeping me entertained.  I may or may not have memorized every single Buffy episode title this week.  I can do all 144 episodes in under 4 minutes, which I think is pretty impressive.  More impressive is me working on my geography (which I should know as a licensed social studies teacher, duh).  Either way, the site is endlessly entertaining.

3. Everwood

Watching this series in conjunction with Revenge has been interesting mostly because Emily Van Camp looks so damn young on Everwood.  The show is totally hokey and emotionally manipulative (and I’m not sold on the actress who plays Delia), but I totally love it.  It’s a great way for me to check out for a while after a long day.  Besides, I’m on break still.  I deserve some mindless entertainment.

4. Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar

Carly has dropped out of uni to spend her days surfing and her nights working as a cook in a Manly café. Surfing is the one thing she loves doing … and the only thing that helps her stop thinking about what happened two years ago at schoolies week.   And then Carly meets Ryan, a local at the break, fresh out of jail. When Ryan learns the truth, Carly has to decide. Will she let the past bury her? Or can she let go of her anger and shame, and find the courage to be happy?

I took the summary from Goodreads simply because I’m not far enough into the story (as of this scheduled post) to really summarize it.  I will say that so far, Eagar’s book is absolutely compelling.  I’m on something of an Aussie-YA kick right now, having just finished Laura Buzo’s really excellent Good Oil (which isn’t available in the United States as of right now and SHOULD BE) and Cath Crowley’s Graffiti Moon.  There are a bunch more Australian authors I want to check out.  I’m totally digging Aussie YA.

5. The trailer for The Five-Year Engagement

Co-written by Jason Segal and starring Emily Blunt, how could I not want to see this movie?  It might end up being terrible, but the trailer isn’t totally offensive, it’s got a great cast, and sometimes you just need a stupid movie.

 

 

*Skylaw is the nickname that my BFF Tranatlantic came up with for my beau.  I hate every word available to describe Skylaw.  He is my boyfriend, but I feel weird saying it.  From this moment forward: Skylaw.

5 thoughts on “Lists and Procrastination: 5 Things I’m Into For the Moment

Leave a Reply

