books and reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Thumped by Megan McCafferty

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

Thumped by Megan McCafferty

Expected Release Date: April 24, 2012

It’s been thirty-five weeks since twin sisters Harmony and Melody went their separate ways. And now their story has become irresistible: twins separated at birth, each due to deliver twins…on the same day!

Married to Ram and living in Goodside, Harmony spends her time trying to fit back into the community she once believed in. But she can’t forget about Jondoe, the guy she fell for under the strangest of circumstances.

To her adoring fans, Melody has achieved everything: a major contract and a coupling with the hottest bump prospect around. But this image is costing her the one guy she really wants.

The girls’ every move is analyzed by millions of fans eagerly counting down to “Double Double Due Date.” They’re two of the most powerful teen girls on the planet, and they could do only one thing to make them even more famous:

Tell the truth.

(summary via Goodreads)

Here’s the thing: McCafferty has long been an author I admire.  Her Jessica Darling series, while seriously flawed as the books progressed (I’m sorry, but they were), was consistently funny, emotionally resonant, and important to my late adolescence/early adulthood.  I think McCafferty is a skilled, insightful writer, and I was so excited for Bumped when it was released last year.  I read it early and was…disappointed.  While most people raved about it, I found myself underwhelmed by the entire thing.  Part of me wants to revisit it and see if it’s different a second time, and I probably will eventually.  Despite my lackluster feelings about the first book in her new series (?), I know I’ll read this one.  I have to see what becomes of the twins.

What are you waiting on this week?

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Thumped by Megan McCafferty

  1. I also have mixed feelings about Bumped though I did end up liking it. And how am I just now hearing about “Double Double Due Date” – wow! Sounds like another crazy ride. Hope you enjoy it when you get the chance to read it.

Leave a Reply

