40 Day Book Challenge: A Book that Blew You Away (08)

Day 8 of the 40 Day Book Challenge asks for a book that blew you away.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

 Lennie Walker is a quiet girl who prefers to spend her time reading and playing clarinet.  When her outgoing older sister Bailey dies, Lennie is forced to confront her grief and her own life.  As she struggles to come to grips with Bailey’s death, she also struggles to balance her feelings for new boy Joe and her sister’s boyfriend Toby.

This is probably one of those books that I read at exactly the right time.  The book’s summary doesn’t do it justice, and no matter how much I gush about it, I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to articulate exactly what it is about and why it affected me so profoundly.  I will say that Nelson’s prose is deeply moving.  Her characters are extremely well-drawn, and it is one of the most believable love stories I’ve ever read.  I bought this book immediately after finishing it.

If you haven’t read it, you should.

 

Leave a Reply

